You are here: Home / Book Reviews

Book Reviews

If you've read a great book lately - send us a summary! We'd love to post your thoughts. Email: rippeyli@windstream.net

The Ickabog by J.K. Rowling

Nancy Hanaman reviews J. K. Rowling's book, "The Ickabog" for the Rippey News, January 18, 2021.

From the Rippey Library Shelf, by Nancy Hanaman

 Intriguing reading abounds on the Juvenile Fiction shelve for young and old.  J.K.Rowling of Harry Potter fame, has created another interesting book, The Ickabog, featuring King Fred the Fearless and his two cunning and deceptive advisors, Lord Spiltleworh and Lord Flapoon and, of course, the mysterious Ickabog. This monster is described "as tall as two horses, eyes glowing balls of fire and long razor-sharp claws." King Fred turns out not to be fearless and the story reveals the truth about the Ickabog.

 

 

Book Review: A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg and The Big Burn by Timothy Egan

Book reviews by Nancy Hanaman

Rippey News December 21, 2020

From the Rippey Library Shelf, by Nancy Hanaman

                   For a heartwarming book related to Christmas, settle into your favorite chair and read A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg.  Set in the welcoming town of Lost River in a remote corner of Alabama, is a "place that time seems to have forgotten."  Oswald Campbell traveled here from Chicago because he needs a warmer climate for his health. Jack, the redbird, a young girl named Patsy, and a host of eccentric characters provide a humorous and moving story of hope and faith for all ages.

                  Moving to 1910, The Big Burn: Teddy Roosevelt and the Fire That Saved America by Timothy Egan shares the true story of a massive forest fire  that destroyed vast areas in Washington, Idaho and Montana. The first major blaze faced by the fledgling Forest Service. Egan continues with the political intrigue relating to preserving and maintaining the national forest areas or opening them to continued clear cutting for lumber needs of the young country. Key figures involved were Teddy Roosevelt and Gifford Pinchot, who created the idea of public land "owned and preserved for every citizen." 

 

 

 

Rippey Library News

Rippey Library News Items, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

Rippey Library News, April 28, 2020

Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

The Rippey Public Library will remain closed until further notice.


December 2019 News 

Rippey Library News, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

            December 18th was our Christmas Party at the library.  There were several crafts, age appropriate, for the children to make.  They also mixed up their own "trail mix".  There was popcorn and party mix to eat and apple juice to drink. 

            I want to thank Nancy Burrow and Lyle Rychnovsky, two of our trustees for helping out.  Our other friends of the library Myron and Maralynn Rinker came to celebrate also.  She brought 'Halo's' for the kids to take home.  We also had one parent who attended.

            I am trying to prepare to be gone for a few weeks while I have my other knee replaced.  I must say it isn't a good time of year to do this, but I appreciate the board stepping up to the plate to work for me.  I'm hoping I can be back in three to four weeks. 

            We have a lot of books that need homes for a couple weeks!  Some of my adult readers have not braved the weather.  

            I hope you all have a good Christmas and a Happy New Year.  I'm looking forward to a better year.

Rippey Library News October 9, 2019

News from Phyllis Bardole, Rippey Librarian includes past events and upcoming events happening at the library.

Rippey Library News, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian  October 9, 2019

               September 28th was the mini con at the Rec Center in Jefferson.  This is put on by the Supervisors and the six libraries of the county.  It was my first.  I must say it was exciting but very tiring for me.  There was a good turnout though and I think everyone including the vendors had a good day. Thanks to the Supervisors for sponsoring this

                This week is Fire Prevention week, but we are going to have our firetruck at the library on Wednesday October 16th when the bus gets to the library.  Pete Johnson will be there with the firetruck and will also provide a program for the kids inside.  Parents and others are welcome to come.  Let's support this.  They protect us all and there are things kids need to know if there is a fire at their house.

                Also, there will be a flu clinic at the library, Tuesday October 14th from 2 -4.   If you have not gotten your flu shot yet please come and get that done.  This isn't only for your sake but for the growing number of people who can't get the shot.  They can't afford to have the flu and neither can you.

                Speaking of October, there will be a Halloween party at the library.  When we know when the town is declaring Halloween night, ours will be from 4 - 5 at the library.  Families are welcome. Costumes will be judged.  We'll have a light supper and treats and then you can go around town and get more treats.

                We have also had someone give us several books and DVD's.  There are a lot we don't have, and I am in the process of going through them to get them processed and on the shelves.  I have to buy more DVD cases as ours are full to the brim.  There will be a lot more to check out.

                As always, we have books and DVD's that have not been returned to the library.  If you happen to have some, please bring them in. Others may want to check them out.

                We wish the farmers a safe harvest.  It is late and wet.  Watch out for them on the road.  Everyone will be hurrying to get the crop out.

 

 

Thank You to Phyllis Bardole from Rippey Native, Delores Morse Blanshan

August 6, 2019 President, Jean Borgeson and Librarian, Phyllis Bardole received a nice thank you note from Delores Morse Blanshan thanking Brenda Roberts and the efforts required by volunteers keeping a library open.

To Jean and Phyllis

I wanted to let you know how much I appreciate reading the library news that Phyllis submits to the paper. As a former Rippey library patron, I enjoy knowing all the good things that are happening, even though I know times can be challenging in a small town that has lost its school.

I have been an educator for a number of years and I know how important it is for children to get books in their hands, especially over the summer as I see that the "brain drain" is a true phenomenon.   I have fond memories of attending the summer reading programs thanks to Mom making the time to take us into town weekly! Reading what Brenda has done with the summer reading program and books Phyllis has been purchasing (love the Magic Tree House set!) you are giving the youth of the Rippey area, an opportunity to be even more successful~ there is a correlation between reading and life long learning.

Thank you for what you are doing!

 Delores Morse Blanshan

Dee Blanshan

Kindergarten                                             

La Porte City Elementary

319-342-3033

d_blanshan@union.k12.ia.us

 

Rippey Library News, July 1, 2019

Last meeting in fiscal year 2018-2019. Dale Hanaman retired from the board. Jean Borgeson elected president and Brenda Roberts, secretary. Summer Reading has begun with Brenda Roberts leading the sessions.

Rippey Library News July 1, 2019, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

Rippey Librarian, Phyllis Bardole is pictured with board members, Brenda Roberts, Nancy Burrow, Jean Borgeson, and Dale Hanaman.  Not pictured is Connie Neese, who moved earlier in May, 2019. Rippey Library Board, May 24, 2019

Pictured with Phyllis Bardole, Librarian, are board members, Brenda Roberts, Nancy Burrow, Jean Borgeson, and Dale Hanaman.  Board member, Connie Neese moved from Rippey earlier in May.

 We have had a busy time at the Library this week.  Our last Board of Trustees meeting for this fiscal year was held June 24th.  Our President Dale Hanaman, who has been on the Board since July 1, 2008 when he filled a vacancy, retired from the board. He will be greatly missed.  A card of thanks from the current board, as well as former librarians and board members was presented.  A cash donation was presented to Dale from the current board members, as well as former librarians and board members. The new President is Jean Borgeson and new Secretary is Brenda Roberts. 

On the 25th we had our first Summer Reading program lead by Brenda Roberts.  There were about 11 kids who came, but also some of the older young adults were here to help. The program is on a Universe of Stories.   This will be held each Tuesday from 2- 3 PM with the last day being July 16th.  If you weren't able to come this past week, come on up to the Library the following Tuesday's.  There will be snacks available.

 June 27th is when I.S.U. brought their "bugs" to the Library.  This was a big hit and over 30 adults and children attended.  They got to hold or "pet" some of the bugs.  We really appreciate the sponsors, the Greene County Supervisors and the Greene County Librarians Association for making this possible for the Libraries in the county.

 

 

 

Rippey Library News, June 17, 2019

Dates for Summer Reading sessions are completed. Call or visit the library to volunteer to help this year's coordinator, Brenda Roberts. The success of any event, depends on community support, so consider giving your time and effort whenever you can.

Rippey Library, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

We have added several new books.  There are more on order and also a new DVD.  Someone donated newer Danielle Steel books also.  We thank those who continually remember the library with their donations.  

Summer Reading will start June 25th from 2 - 3 p. m. each Tuesday afternoon with the last one on July 16th.  The sessions will include Kindergarten- 5th grades.  Brenda Roberts is the coordinator this year, so come out and support her by attending. The older youth and adults are invited to volunteer, and would be appreciated.  Snacks will be provided.

Don't forget the "invasion of the alien bugs" on June 27th at 4:30.  The presenters are from Iowa State University and the program, presented in each of the county libraries, is funded by the Greene County Supervisors and the Greene County Library Association.  This will interest adults also, and the public is encouraged to attend. There will be refreshments.

I'm having a contest between the Adults and Youth.  We will keep track of how many books you read between now and August 16th.  One from each age group will receive a book as a prize.

Our 75th anniversary will be later this summer or early fall. An open house highlighting this milestone is in the early planning stage.

 

Rippey Library News, June 3, 2019

Library news, June 3, 2019, by Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

Rippey Library, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

 

We have had two new Quilting Books given to the Library in memory of Vava Monthei by her granddaughter Carrie McCain.  They are full of patterns for a summer project.

School will be out this week.  Later this month, June 27th at 4:30 Iowa State will be bringing over their live bugs for us to see.  This isn't just a children's program, this is for all the family.  I will have posters up soon, but please put this on your calendar to attend.

We still need volunteers for summer reading.  The theme is, "Space"  but we can do anything. This is also the 50th year of astronauts walking on the moon!  I'm still looking for volunteers to help with crafts or read.  Call me or stop by.

Later in the summer the Library will be celebrating its 75th year!!  If the youth would come in and read books, maybe we can have a contest to see who reads the most books.  Then you would get a book to take home. 

I have space pages to color.  If you come in and get one, we will have a contest.  

Rippey Iowa Community Notes!!

Announcements of interest in and around the Rippey Community.

Rippey Alumni 2019

The annual meeting of the Rippey Alumni met at the Rippey United Methodist Church on Saturday, May 25, 2019, for a noon meal served by the church members. There were 29 alumni attending with approximately 20 cooks, servers and singers who helped with the meal and meeting.

After the delicious meal, the meeting was held in the sanctuary. President, Mary Fry Liebich welcomed the group and all stood for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. The Rippey singers sang, “Jesus is Calling America” and was directed by Dick Bardole.

The roll call of alumni was read. The oldest alumnus attending was Mary Ethell Cunningham who graduated with the class of 1944. There have been six deceased members reported since our last meeting, that we know of. 

The class of 1959 was presented and acknowledged for their 60 year anniversary.  John Bardole, who stepped in for Lynn Wilson, read Lynn’s memory notes.  Jean Borgeson shared a few excerpts from classmates of Ralph’s written on the back of senior pictures shared with him at the end of their school years.  Those attending this year were:  Dan Acton, John Bardole, Larry Munson, Judy Monthei Wills, and Mary Ann Young Miller. A letter from Julie High States McAllister was read.  Others in the class who were unable to attend were, Sally Burk Drake, Jay Bardole, Jerry Groves, Paul Moore, Sheila Rhoades Sjeklocha, Jim Smith, Dennis Smothers, and Lynn Wilson. Glen Henderson’s address is unknown.  The deceased members are: Ralph Borgeson, Frank Carpenter, Dean Fiscus, Ronnie Hastie, Jack Kenny, Jim (Gene) Ridnour, and Kenneth Tallman.

The floor was opened for nominations of officers for next year.  There being no takers, the secretary, Jean Borgeson, agreed to send out the letter and invitations.  Most of the other helpers will be willing to continue what they do to make this day work.  The price of stamps being a big expense, the decision to utilize E-mails for next year’s invitation was met with general agreement. 

After the collection, the meeting was adjourned and many stayed to visit.  The next meeting will be Saturday, May 23, 2020.

 

 August 16, 2019 will be the 75th anniversary for the Rippey Public Library.

Although Rippey had a library for decades available to it's patrons, a meeting of the Town Council on June 12th, 1944, Ordinance #48 was passed and adopted, establishing a free public library for the Town of Rippey.  From The Jefferson Herald, August 10, 1944:  The Rippey Library will be open to the public for the first time on Wednesday, Aug. 16, 1944, although the tax appropriation to support the project was not available until the following spring.  With the spirited interest of the community and their combined efforts, a collection of books and equipment for the reading room was gathered to start the project.  A sizable gift was one of several hundred books of the library of the late W. E. Jenison, given to the library by Mrs. Jenison, who also gave the library a sectional bookcase.  Mrs. Morton Wolfe and Miss Verna Lawton donated magazines to be used by the library, the first in the town of Rippey. Other information concerning the first year: Mrs. Mildred Castles served as temporary librarian and in 1945 Susie Wilson became the librarian.The first board included Helen Crumley, Miriam High, Lavina Fry, Nellie Senter, Wilmuth Peters. Later Mrs. Senter resigned and was replaced by Mrs. Millie Castles. Mildred and her husband, Dr. William Castles moved to Dallas Center in early April, 1946. Source: library records and newspaper articles.

Rippey Library News, December 23, 2019

Rippey Library Christmas party and announcements for December 2019.

Rippey Library News, Phyllis Bardole, Librarian

            December 18th was our Christmas Party at the library.  There were several crafts, age appropriate, for the children to make.  They also mixed up their own "trail mix".  There was popcorn and party mix to eat and apple juice to drink. 

            I want to thank Nancy Burrow and Lyle Rychnovsky, two of our trustees for helping out.  Our other friends of the library Myron and Maralynn Rinker came to celebrate also.  She brought 'Halo's' for the kids to take home.  We also had one parent who attended.

            I am trying to prepare to be gone for a few weeks while I have my other knee replaced.  I must say it isn't a good time of year to do this, but I appreciate the board stepping up to the plate to work for me.  I'm hoping I can be back in three to four weeks. 

            We have a lot of books that need homes for a couple weeks!  Some of my adult readers have not braved the weather.  

            I hope you all have a good Christmas and a Happy New Year.  I'm looking forward to a better year.