You are here: Home / Rippey, Iowa High School State Basketball Team, 1925

Rippey, Iowa High School State Basketball Team, 1925

The Rippey, Iowa High School boys basketball team placed third in the state, after a very successful 1924-25 season.


Rippey Iowa High School Boys State Basketball Team 1924-1925

Top row, left to right:  Dwight “Joe” Fouch, Hans Nelson, Coach Ellis Clough, Lucian “Lowie” Aubertin, Edwin “Squeak” Thornburgh, Bruce Cain; bottom row, left to right:  Donald “Shark” McClune, Glen “Mutt” Grow, Captain Everett “Percy” Thornburgh, Harold “Rady” Radebaugh, and Ray “Gap” Johnson.

    The Rippey Boys Basketball Team completed a successful season—of the 28 games played, they won 22.  At the Sectional Tournament in Dallas Center, Everett Thornburgh was awarded one of the three “I’s” given by the Register and Leader for good sportsmanship and clean playing.

    At the Tournament in Menlo, two of the players, Harold Radebaugh and Donald McClune were given places on the All-Tournament Team, while Everett Thornburgh was placed on the Second All-Tournament Team at the contest in Boone.  This team won the Sectional and District Tournaments, and played three games in the “Class B” Round Robin State Tournament, finishing in Third Place.